Pre-Conference Workshops

28th June 2017, Université Paris Diderot – Paris 7

Pre-Conference Workshop #1 : Media Industries
Organised by the NECS Workgroup on Media Industries.

Contact Mingant Nolwenn, and Petr Szczepanik,
Salle Pierre Albouy, 13.00 – 17.00
Campus Grands moulins
C building, 6th floor
Coffee break at 15.30.
Pre-Conference Workshop #2 : How to Teach European Cinema : The European Universities Film Award (EUFA)
Contact : Skadi Loist,
Salle 791C, 13.30-17.00
Campus Grands moulins
C building, 7th floor
Coffee break at 15.30.
In 2016, Filmfest Hamburg and the European Film Academy (EFA) launched the 1st European University Film Award (EUFA). This award, presented and voted for by European University students, aims to engage young people with the values of European cinema and processes for its recognition and promotion. Five films were viewed and discussed in the participating university classes. One student representative per university came to Hamburg for a deliberation meeting. For two days students discussed all films together, exchanged arguments and voted for the final winner: I, Daniel Blake by Ken Loach. NECS helped connect film scholars and students from 13 European countries with the EUFA program in 2016 and facilitates the expansion of the project. This workshop will bring together the award’s initiator, Filmfest Hamburg programmer Kathrin Kohlstedde, and scholars who participated in teaching the first EUFA classes. In this workshop we will discuss the different approaches and challenges that arose by teaching current European cinema in different settings depending on the course setup, the program, department and country. While discussing this specific initiative, we will also consider broader issues such as current teaching methods for film analysis and criticism, connections of theory and practice sections as well as transnational and cosmopolitan approaches to European cinema.
Workshop organizer: Skadi Loist (University of Rostock)
1) Kathrin Kohlstedde (Filmfest Hamburg)
2) Lydia Papadimitriou (Liverpool John Moores University)
3) Francesco Pitassio (University of Udine)
4) Andrea Pocsik (Pázmány Péter Catholic University, Budapest)
5) Ioannis (Yannis) Skopeteas (University of the Aegean)
6) Michał Pabiś-Orzeszyna (University of Łódź)
Pre-Conference Workshop #3 : Experimental Media Archaeology
Organised by the European Network for Experimental Media Archaeology (NEMA)

Contacts : Annie van der Oever,, Andreas Fickers,
Salle 789C, 13.30-17.00
Campus Grands moulins C building, 7th floor
Coffee break at 15.30.